ରାଉରକେଲା ମହାବିଦ୍ୟାଳୟ, ରାଉରକେଲା
ସେକ୍ଟର - ୪ ରାଉରକେଲା ୦୨
ଫୋନ- ୦୬୬୧ ୨୬୪୬୭୨୮
ଇମେଲ - [email protected]
Sector - 4 Rourkela 02
Ph - 0661 2646728
Email - [email protected]

About Us > The College

The College

Rourkela college, Rourkela, which was initially known as Rourkela Night College, and subsequently renamed Rourkela Evening College, owes its origin to the initiative of the Government of Odisha. Originally Rourkela Evening College came into being as a result of the initiative of Sri. B.N. Mishra and Late H.K. Ray as well as the people of Rourkela. The College began from 8th August, 1966.

Authorities of the Hindustan Steel Limited, Rourkela, were good enough to allow the college classes to be held on the premises of present building at Sector-4. The college started functioning with 256 students in the Pre-University Arts; Bachelor of Arts class (having 128 seats) was opened in the session 1968-69, Intermediate Commerce was opened in the year 1977 with 32 seats. In the same year teaching of Honours facility was provided to 16 students both in English and political science. In 1979 B. Com class started with 32 seats. Honours study in Economics and Oriya was also introduced in 1980-81. Honours facilities in History and Commerce have been provided from 1981-82 and 1982-83 respectively. At the instance of the Sambalpur University, Pre-University and First year Degree classes in Arts and Commerce were abolished in the session of 1977-78 as the two-year intermediate courses in Arts and Commerce were introduced followed by a two-year degree course. The +2 and +3 system of education were introduced with effect from 1983-84 and 1986-87 respectively. Now the college is providing teaching facilities to Arts and Commerce students with 256 and 128 seats each in both +2 and +3 level.

In 1989 a new phase began in the history of this college. After a long period of patient endeavour by the students and teachers and the people of Rourkela the management of Rourkela Evening college was taken over by the Government of Odisha on 1st February 1989. The college was renamed as Government Evening College, Rourkela.

In 2001 Government of Odisha took a decision to separate +2 from +3 colleges. Accordingly, vide G.O. No. 29412/ HE Dated 18.5.2001 the +2 stream has been separated from the +3 stream and Government Evening College has been renamed Rourkela College, Rourkela for Degree and Rourkela Jr. College, Rourkela for +2classes.

On 01.11.2014, the NAC(ST) Junior College, Rourkela was merged with Rourkela Junior College, Rourkela vide govt. notification No. 20196 dated 28.08.2014. Now, Rourkela Junior College, Rourkela offers +2 Courses in Arts, commerce and Science.

© . All Rights Reserved with ROURKELA COLLEGE ROURKELA.
Powered by Hepta Infotech Services LLP